History of SPS

2003 Past President

Alan S. Bass, Schering-Plough Research Institute

Dr. Bass was awarded a BS in Pharmacy from Northeastern University and a PhD in Pharmacology from Louisiana State University Medical Center. He completed a Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology at the University of North Carolina under a National Research Service Award from the NIH.

Dr. Bass began his academic tenure in the Department of Pharmacological & Physiological Sciences and the Committee on Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Chicago, advancing to the rank of Research Associate—Assistant Professor. From there, he joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor in the Division of Basic Medical Sciences, School of Medicine at Mercer University. His industrial tenure began at American Cyanamid Company in the Department of Investigative Toxicology (Safety Pharmacology) where he held the position of Senior Research Pharmacologist and in the Department of Toxicology as a Senior Research Toxicologist. Dr. Bass joined Pharmacia & Upjohn in Safety Pharmacology, Worldwide Toxicology, during which he advanced to the level of Senior Scientist. Dr. Bass was responsible for establishing Safety Pharmacology at Schering-Plough Research Institute and is currently a Senior Fellow in Drug Safety & Metabolism.

During his tenure in industry, Dr. Bass has contributed to the emergence of Safety Pharmacology on both a national and international level. He has co-chaired and presented numerous symposia, workshops, and continuing education courses on topics of importance to Safety Pharmacology and has authored several papers and book chapters in the field. Dr. Bass has served on several key committees including the PhRMA Safety Pharmacology Advisory Panel (ICH Topic S7A); the US FDA/PhRMA QTc Prolongation Work Group; and the ILSI/HESI Cardiovascular Safety Projects Committee. He is a member of the Executive Committee of the Cardiovascular Division of ASPET, has served on the General Pharmacology/Safety Pharmacology Discussion Group as Chairperson, and is a Past-President of the Safety Pharmacology Society. Dr. Bass currently serves as a Member of the Board of Directors in the Safety Pharmacology Society and the ILSI/HESI Proarrhythmia Models Projects Committee.