Distinguished Service Award

The deadline for submissions was January 15, 2012.

This award is to honor an individual who has substantially contributed to the field of Safety Pharmacology.

For a nomination, the following criteria will be considered:

  • Specific research achievements
  • Champions of the field
  • Lifelong contribution to the field
  • Substantial specific contribution
  • Visionary direction
  • Regulatory decisions
  • Science of the field
  • Education
  • Collaboration between industry and academia

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) will be given every year, although there shall be no obligation or duty to make such award when, in the sole opinion of the committee, there is no qualified nominee.


Only Members may nominate although the nominee does not have to be a member. A member may not nominate more than one person per year.

Nominations must contain name of nominee, current position and address, and current email address with the completed application (see above). After the nominations are received, the DSA committee will consider the nominees and generate a short list of candidates. At this time the committee will solicit from the nominators of the individuals from the short list three letters of support, a current curriculum vitae, and supporting documentation that indicates the nominee’s achievements in safety pharmacology (critical in the review of each nominee). Electronic (Word or PDF) or Faxed copy of the nomination should be sent to SPS Headquarters.

The Award

Presentation of the Award will be given at the Annual Meeting of the Society. The recipient will be given a plaque, a cash award, and an invitation to deliver a presentation that may be published with the meeting proceedings. Travel expenses for the recipient to attend the meeting will be paid.